Waiting On Wednesday: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

waiting on wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights pre-publication/upcoming releases that readers cannot wait to get their hands on. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

38139409

Title: Sawkill Girls
Author: Claire Legrand
Publication date: October 16, 2018
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis

Beware of the woods and the dark, dank deep.

He’ll follow you home, and he won’t let you sleep.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: the new girl. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: the pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.

Val: the queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives, a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires.

Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight… until now.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Recently Added to My TBR

Formerly hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl


This week’s topic is…A FREEBIE

 Books I Recently Added to My TBR

(CLICK ON THE BOOK COVER TO BE LINKED TO ITS GOODREADS’ PAGE)

3813940934610696

31180248

39098246

25908345

35879387

37854049

36546635

35068830

38734256

What are some books you have recently added to your TBR?

Waiting On Wednesday: Royals by Rachel Hawkins

waiting on wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights pre-publication/upcoming releases that readers cannot wait to get their hands on. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

35997816

Title: Royals
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Publication date: May 1, 2018
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Synopsis

Meet Daisy Winters. She’s an offbeat sixteen-year-old Floridian with mermaid-red hair; a part time job at a bootleg Walmart, and a perfect older sister who’s nearly engaged to the Crown Prince of Scotland. Daisy has no desire to live in the spotlight, but relentless tabloid attention forces her to join Ellie at the relative seclusion of the castle across the pond.

While the dashing young Miles has been appointed to teach Daisy the ropes of being regal, the prince’s roguish younger brother kicks up scandal wherever he goes, and tries his best to take Daisy along for the ride. The crown–and the intriguing Miles–might be trying to make Daisy into a lady . . . but Daisy may just rewrite the royal rulebook to suit herself. 

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Blog Tour: Raves & Craves of Given to the Earth by Mindy McGinnis

GivenToEarth_BlogBanner

Given to the Earth Cover

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

 

Title: Given to the Earth
Author: Mindy McGinnis
Publisher: Putnam’s Childrens
Release Date: April 10, 2018
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis:

Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas.

Although she was born to save the kingdom by sacrificing herself to the rising sea, Khosa’s marriage to King Vincent has redeemed her. As the Queen of Stille, she’s untouchable. But being Queen hasn’t stopped her heart from longing for the King’s stepbrother, Donil. And it hasn’t stopped her body from longing for the sea itself, which still calls for her.

While Khosa is made to choose between loyalty and love, Dara is on a mission for vengeance. Years ago, the Pietra slaughtered the entire Indiri race, leaving only Dara and her twin, Donil, alive. Now, spurned by King Vincent, Dara has embarked on a mission to spill the blood of Pietra’s leader, Witt, and will stop at nothing to show his people the wrath of the last Indiri. 

As the waves crash ever closer to Stille, secrets are revealed, hearts are won and lost, and allegiances change like the shifting sand.


1

Given to the Earth follows a few months after the captivating ending of Given to the Sea. Also, told in multiple points-of-view like its fantasy duo, this book focuses on how Khosa’s thought-to-be tragic sacrifice to the sea has now turned into a chance to live and be queen. But with these new changes in motion, the Earth begins to literally crumble beneath them and the loyalties among the characters are challenged. Love becomes a triangle of complexities–trust and forgiveness are tested. McGinnis writes a beautiful epic story, where lives at social and cultural classes are pushed to survive. She takes each of her flawed characters, and gives them a chance to save themselves, their family and friends, and in some cases, their own people and kingdom.

What I loved about this book the most was the many shocking secrets that are revealed. We delve into an action-packed book that is filled with tragic traditions, political gain, and secretive histories. In Given to the Earth, we are thrown into layers of political intrigue, betrayal, heartbreak, and some tragic endings. And in the end, I loved the last chapter, which brilliantly and beautifully provides a heartfelt conclusion.

 

2
In several scenes of Given to the Earth, Khosa is mentioned to be eating bread or munching on bread crumbs. Now I love me some good, warm homemade bread, but I also have a sweet tooth. While reading these scenes, I could not stop thinking about my mom’s famous monkey bread. So of course, I quickly whipped up a batch of monkey bread and ate it during the last few chapters of the book. Both the monkey bread and the last chapter made an ooey-gooey mess with my heart.


Ingredients:

Canned biscuits (1 to 2 cans)
1 cup of brown sugar
1 cup of white sugar
2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon
1/2 cup of butter or margarine

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven at 350 degrees
  2. Lightly grease a bundt pan
  3. Mix the white sugar and cinnamon in a bowl or plastic bag
  4. Cut up biscuit dough into bite-sized pieces
  5. Mix and coat the bite-sized biscuit dough in the sugar-cinnamon mix
  6. At medium heat, boil the butter and brown sugar in a pan to make a sauce
  7. Add and arrange the sugar-cinnamon biscuits pieces into the greased bundt pan.
  8. Pour the buttery-brown sugar sauce over top the coated biscuit pieces in the bundt pan
  9. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Let it cool for 10 minutes and flip onto a plate. You can now slice the cake or pull pieces off. YUM!

24
GIVEN TO THE SEA

27

5351825
Mindy McGinnis is an assistant YA librarian who lives in Ohio and cans her own food. She graduated from Otterbein University magna cum laude with a BA in English Literature and Religion.


WE
BSITE   /   TWITTER  /   GOODREADS   /
FACEBOOK   /   INSTAGRAM

Note: Thank you to Penguin Teen for having me on this blog tour and for providing me a review copy to read for free in exchange for an honest review. All statements and opinions are my own.

Review of A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet

27015399
Title:
A Promise of Fire
Author: Amanda Bouchet
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Release Date: August 2, 2016
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Romance

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

“I can say, without a doubt, that A Promise of Fire is going on my keeper shelf…I cannot remember the last time I wanted to both savor and devour a book.” ― Smart Bitches, Trashy Books

KINGDOMS WILL RISE AND FALL FOR HER…
BUT NOT IF SHE CAN HELP IT

Catalia “Cat” Fisa lives disguised as a soothsayer in a traveling circus. She is perfectly content avoiding the danger and destiny the Gods-and her homicidal mother-have saddled her with. That is, until Griffin, an ambitious warlord from the magic-deprived south, fixes her with his steely gaze and upsets her illusion of safety forever.

Griffin knows Cat is the Kingmaker, the woman who divines the truth through lies. He wants her as a powerful weapon for his newly conquered realm-until he realizes he wants her for much more than her magic. Cat fights him at every turn, but Griffin’s fairness, loyalty, and smoldering advances make him increasingly hard to resist and leave her wondering if life really does have to be short, and lived alone. 


banners (4)

A Promise of Fire did not 100% work for me. I loved the world-building and the lore and the insane amount of magic, but I found the characters and their motivations problematic.

The main character, Cat, has so much power and at times can be so fierce, but this fierceness is at times overshadowed by her inner monologue and naivety. She often comes off childish, and as the female lead I wanted so much more boldness.

Also when I thought the the “alpha” in the story, Griffin, would maybe win me over, his overbearing nature and possessiveness just did not click for me. Even though their banter and chemistry sizzles on some of the pages, the relationship between Cat and Griffin is not balanced on both sides. When he sees her weeks before she even knows he exists, he has to “have her.” His intentions seem like a conquest while she is the innocent virgin with magical powers. Yes, we get playful banter and some witty sarcasm between the two, but there is very little mystery left for the imagination to perceive how their relationship will develop. A Promise of Fire was not a slow burn romance that I was hoping for. The “love” between these two characters is about power and dominance. Consent is often stressed in their relationship, but the alpha is consistent and repeatedly portraying his pouncing cat-like nature to a mouse who often and verbally says “no.”

Overall, I gave the book two stars because I was very fond of the world building and the secrets of Cat’s past. I have my ideas of who and what she is, so I am debating if I want to continue the series to see if I am right.

1 star rating

Note: I was not provided a copy of this book by the author or the publisher in an exchange for a review. I bought this book with my own funds, and I reviewed the book at my own discretion.  All statements and opinions in this review are my own.

Waiting on Wednesday: Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart

waiting on wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights pre-publication/upcoming releases that readers cannot wait to get their hands on. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

32605766

Title: Grace and Fury
Author: Tracy Banghart
Publication date: July 31, 2018
Publisher: Little, Brown
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi Tessaro face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other in prison.

Serina has been groomed her whole life to become a Grace–someone to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining, subjugated example of the perfect woman. But when her headstrong and rebellious younger sister, Nomi, catches the heir’s eye, it’s Serina who takes the fall for the dangerous secret that Nomi has been hiding.

Now trapped in a life she never wanted, Nomi has only one way to save Serina: surrender to her role as a Grace until she can use her position to release her sister. This is easier said than done. A traitor walks the halls of the palace, and deception lurks in every corner. But Serina is running out of time, imprisoned on an island where she must fight to the death to survive and one wrong move could cost her everything.

Goodreads Amazon | Barnes & Noble