Treat Yo Shelf: December 2018 Recap

treat-yo-shelf

December 2018: Monthly Recap

Welcome to my monthly recap post, in which I highlight the books I read in the last month, bookish items I acquired, book events I attended, bookish news, and/or subscription boxes I received this month.

what did I read

35019718
★★★★
Check out my review here

38737747
★★★
Check out my full review here!  

10264464
★★★
This is a very cute and charming holiday story. I loved that the authors carry us through the wonders of New York City and a very famous bookstore as two strangers build a relationship based on dares, happenstances, and a notebook of clues.

35701702
★★
I just recently finished this book and I’m processing all my thoughts, so look forward to a full review soon.

TheCruelPrince_9780316416948_OwlCrate_F1.indd
★★★★★
This is a reread of The Cruel Prince for Miss Print’s readalong, and you guys I love this book/series so much. The betrayal and the angst…GAH!

   what did i review

(Click on the banner to be linked to blog post)

banners (26)

banners (25)

banners (27)

publishers and authors

IMG_1149
I received When the Sky Fell on Splendor, one of my most anticipated 2019 books, from one of my favorite bloggers, Miss Print. Thank you so much, Emma. I wanted to read this book once I received it, but I’m going to wait for the new year before diving into it.

IMG_1117I won a copy of Enchantée from TheBumbleGirl on Instagram. Thank you, Margie. I cannot wait to buddy read it with you.

I received a copy of Sherwood by Meagan Spooner through a books for trade on Twitter. I cannot wait to read it. 

monthly raves

ANNOUNCEMENT: I was selected to be a 3-month Rep for Uppercase Box. As more details roll in, I will keep you updated on an news, deals, and discount codes from Uppercase. I am blown away with all the support and congratulations from everyone. I have been an Uppercase subscriber since early 2015, and I cannot believe I get to rep for them. AHHH!

December’s Uppercase Box

December’s Owlcrate Box

Alchemy and Ink’s December’s Mini-Box

IMG_1122
I was selected to be a #YAWRC2019 Ambassador. I’m so excited to share all the love and raves of Young Adult books coming out in the winter of 2019. And a huge thank you to BookSparks for this opportunity. 

Swirl break

How did you treat your shelves in December?

Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday: The Deceivers by Kristen Simmons

waiting on wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights pre-publication/upcoming releases that readers cannot wait to get their hands on. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

35162590

Title: The Deceivers
Author: Kristen Simmons
Publication date: February 5, 2019
Publisher: Tor Teen
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Contemporary

Synopsis

Pretty Little Liars meets Ocean’s 11 in this intrigue-filled contemporary drama from acclaimed author Kristen Simmons.

Welcome to Vale Hall, the school for aspiring con artists.

When Brynn Hilder is recruited to Vale, it seems like the elite academy is her chance to start over, away from her mom’s loser boyfriend and her rundown neighborhood. But she soon learns that Vale chooses students not so much for their scholastic talent as for their extracurricular activities, such as her time spent conning rich North Shore kids out of their extravagant allowances.

At first, Brynn jumps at the chance to help the school in its mission to rid the city of corrupt officials–because what could be better than giving entitled jerks what they deserve? But that’s before she meets her mark–a senator’s son–and before she discovers the school’s headmaster has secrets he’ll stop at nothing to protect. As the lines between right and wrong blur, Brynn begins to realize she’s in way over head.

Goodreads Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Waiting on Wednesday: Blood Heir by Amélie Wen Zhao

waiting on wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights pre-publication/upcoming releases that readers cannot wait to get their hands on. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

42359583

Title: Blood Heir
Author: Amélie Wen Zhao
Publication date: June 4, 2019
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis

The hottest fantasy debut of the summer, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Blood Heir is the first book in an epic new series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the conman she must trust to clear her name for her father’s murder. 

In the Cyrilian Empire, Affinites are reviled and enslaved. Their varied abilities to control the world around them are unnatural–dangerous. And Anastacya Mikhailov, the crown princess, might be the most monstrous of them all. Her deadly Affinity to blood is her curse and the reason she has lived her life hidden behind palace walls.

But when Ana’s father, the emperor, is murdered, her world is shattered: Ana is the one framed as his killer. To save herself, she must flee the safety of the palace and enter a land that hunts her and her kind. And to clear her name, she must find her father’s murderer on her own. Yet, what Ana finds is far worse than she ever imagined. A greater conspiracy is at work in Cyrilia, one that threatens the very balance of her world. And there is only one person corrupt enough to help her get to its rotten core: Ramson Quicktongue.

A cunning crime lord of the Cyrilian underworld, Ramson has sinister plans–though he might have met his match in Ana. Because in this story, the princess might be the most dangerous player of all.

GoodreadsAmazon | Barnes & Noble

If It’s Not a Rant, It’s a Rave: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

35019718
Title:
 Kindred Spirits
Author:  Rainbow Rowell
Publisher: St. Martin’s Giffin
Release Date: April 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’
‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’
‘Maybe.’

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does.

What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.

Kindred Spirits is an engaging short story by Rainbow Rowell, author of the bestselling Eleanor & ParkFangirl and Carry OnKindred Spirits has been specially produced for World Book Day.


banners (25)

If you’re in the mood for a cute and quick contemporary read, I highly recommend Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell. In this short story, I love that Star Wars is the main incentive that brings all of these characters together. I found the story to be so sweet and the characters very realistic. Rainbow has a very unique way of allowing her characters and side characters to shine brightly on the page with smart and witty banter. And if you’re a fan of Star Wars, like me, you will laugh along with the nerdy references and jokes that play between these characters.

Because the story is extremely short, I don’t want to give too much away. But I must say even though each characters’ secrets and flaws unravel throughout the pages, the friendships that develop in this story are cute and memorable.

4 star rating
Note: I received this book as a “freebie” on World Book Day from my local independent bookstore.  All statements and opinions are my own. 

Book Review: Famous In A Small Town by Emma Mills

35526663
Title:
 Famous in A Small Town

Author: Emma Mills
Publisher:  Henry Holt
Release Date: January 15, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

For Sophie, small-town life has never felt small. She has the Yum Yum Shoppe, with its famous fourteen flavors of ice cream; her beloved marching band, the pride and joy of Acadia High (even if the football team disagrees); and her four best friends, loving and infuriating, wonderfully weird and all she could ever ask for. 

Then August moves in next door. A quiet guy with a magnetic smile, August seems determined to keep everyone at arm’s length. Sophie in particular. 

Country stars, revenge plots, and a few fake kisses (along with some excellent real ones) await Sophie in this hilarious, heartfelt story.


banners (27).png

I’m not much for country music, but the small-town feel of Famous In A Small Town by Emma Mills won me over. If I could count how many times I laughed out loud on my fingers, I would need more fingers. But even though I found myself laughing throughout the story, I did find this book to have a more serious tone than past Emma Mills’ books that I enjoyed.

I love the friendships that Emma creates in her books, and Famous In a Small Town has A LOT of them…A LOT! The numerous amount of friends in this book overwhelmed me at first, but that did not falter me from staying focused on the story at hand. I had a hard time relating to the main character (Sophie) and her friends and family, but this doesn’t mean that other readers won’t connect to her. Sophie’s story broke my heart and then carefully pieced it back together with love, laughter, and macaroni and cheese (the good kind, that you make on the stove, not that gross kind that you make in the microwave). 

If you are already an Emma Mills fanatic, and even if you are not, this book will make your heart ache like a country song that you tell everyone that you hate, but you actually might love because it’s so damn catchy! Plus there are some swoons! I love me some good “Emma Mills” swoons!

3 star rating

Note: Thank you to Henry Holt and Fierce Reads for providing me an early copy of this book to read and review. I was not compensated for this review. All statements and opinions in this review are mine.