Blogger Blitz: Trailer of The Lost Dreamer by Lizz Huerta


The Lost Dreamer by Lizz HuertaTitle:
The Lost Dreamer
Author:  Lizz Huerta
Publisher: Macmillan/ Farrar, Straus and Giroux 
Release Date: March 1, 2022
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

 

Synopsis:

A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir.

Indir is a Dreamer, descended from a long line of seers; able to see beyond reality, she carries the rare gift of Dreaming truth. But when the beloved king dies, his son has no respect for this time-honored tradition. King Alcan wants an opportunity to bring the Dreamers to a permanent end—an opportunity Indir will give him if he discovers the two secrets she is struggling to keep. As violent change shakes Indir’s world to its core, she is forced to make an impossible choice: fight for her home or fight to survive.

Saya is a seer, but not a Dreamer—she has never been formally trained. Her mother exploits her daughter’s gift, passing it off as her own as they travel from village to village, never staying in one place too long. Almost as if they’re running from something. Almost as if they’re being hunted. When Saya loses the necklace she’s worn since birth, she discovers that seeing isn’t her only gift—and begins to suspect that everything she knows about her life has been a carefully-constructed lie. As she comes to distrust the only family she’s ever known, Saya will do what she’s never done before, go where she’s never been, and risk it all in the search of answers.

With a detailed, supernaturally-charged setting and topical themes of patriarchal power and female strength, Lizz Huerta’s The Lost Dreamer brings an ancient world to life, mirroring the challenges of our modern one.


It’s here! Enjoy The Lost Dreamer book trailer and mark your calendars for its release on March 1, 2022.

A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed—perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir. 

 

Blogger Blitz: Treat Yo Shelf to The Lost Dreamer by Lizz Huerta


The Lost Dreamer by Lizz HuertaTitle:
The Lost Dreamer
Author:  Lizz Huerta
Publisher: Macmillan/ Farrar, Straus and Giroux 
Release Date: March 1, 2022
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

 

Synopsis:

A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir.

Indir is a Dreamer, descended from a long line of seers; able to see beyond reality, she carries the rare gift of Dreaming truth. But when the beloved king dies, his son has no respect for this time-honored tradition. King Alcan wants an opportunity to bring the Dreamers to a permanent end—an opportunity Indir will give him if he discovers the two secrets she is struggling to keep. As violent change shakes Indir’s world to its core, she is forced to make an impossible choice: fight for her home or fight to survive.

Saya is a seer, but not a Dreamer—she has never been formally trained. Her mother exploits her daughter’s gift, passing it off as her own as they travel from village to village, never staying in one place too long. Almost as if they’re running from something. Almost as if they’re being hunted. When Saya loses the necklace she’s worn since birth, she discovers that seeing isn’t her only gift—and begins to suspect that everything she knows about her life has been a carefully-constructed lie. As she comes to distrust the only family she’s ever known, Saya will do what she’s never done before, go where she’s never been, and risk it all in the search of answers.

With a detailed, supernaturally-charged setting and topical themes of patriarchal power and female strength, Lizz Huerta’s The Lost Dreamer brings an ancient world to life, mirroring the challenges of our modern one.


The Lost Dreamer by Lizz Huerta has been dubbed Spring’s buzziest YA debut by Entertainment Weekly and the official book trailer drops tomorrow, 11/5. Visit my page tomorrow for your first look!

 

TLD Trailer Teaser_IG story

 

Top Ten Tuesday: A Bookish Holiday Gift Guide

HOSTED by The Broke and the Bookish


This week’s topic is…

Holiday Gift Guide: Gift Ideas for Booklovers

Books to Book-inspired Candles to Subscription Boxes

BOOKS

#1: YA Fantasy: 

18798983

#2: YA Historical Fiction:

22056895

#3: YA Sci-Fi:

16101128

#4: YA Contemporary:

22369653

#5: YA Magical Realism:

23346358

BOOK-INSPIRED CANDLES

#6: NovellyYours: Created by a fellow book-blogger, Brittany runs my favorite book-inspired candle store on Etsy. I’m addicted to the creative candles that she makes. They always smell so amazing and delicious.

#7: The Melting Library: This is another bookish-inspired candle store that creates some of the best scents, which is run by Raquel Nevarez. My favorite candle from this store is by far Bite and Sting, which is inspired by Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Trilogy series.

the winner's trilogy haul

BOOK SUBSCRIPTION BOXES

#8: UppercaseBox: A monthly YA book subscription, which always includes a signed, recently released YA hardback book along with other bookish goodies including tea samples, candles, scarves, nailwraps, buttons, bookmarks, etc. Expert Plan is $23.00 per month plus shipping ($6.00).

#9: OwlCrate: A monthly YA book subscription box, which includes a newly released YA hardback book with other bookish inspired goodies, including tea, Funko Pops, jewelry, candles, and etc. A 1-Month Box costs $29.99 plus shipping. 

#10: FierceReads GiftLit Subscription: This is one of my favorite subscriptions I discovered this year. You can choose between a 3, 6, or a 12-month subscription. For each month you subscribed, you will get a recently released YA Fierce Reads book (you can also pick and choose which books you want to receive). Along with the books, you will get one package filled with FierceReads goodies, which includes signed bookplates, posters, maps, nail polish, lip gloss, and tattoos. 

Note: If you have any questions about any of these gift ideas, please feel free to comment below. I will try to answer you as soon as I can. 

What are some holiday gift ideas you have for fellow booklovers?

Waiting on Wednesday with The Winner’s Kiss

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY:

The Winner’s Kiss

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that highlights pre-publication/upcoming releases that readers cannot wait to get their hands on. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

This week my most anticipated read is…The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

Here is a brief summary and a picture of the beautiful cover provided by Goodreads:

“War has begun. Arin is in the thick of it, with the East as his ally and the empire as his enemy. He’s finally managed to dismiss the memory of Kestrel, even if he can’t quite forget her. Kestrel turned into someone he could no longer recognize: someone who cared more for the empire than for the lives of innocent people—and certainly more than she cared for him. At least, that’s what he thinks.

But far north lies a work camp where Kestrel is a prisoner. Can she manage to escape before she loses herself? As the war intensifies, both Kestrel and Arin discover unexpected roles in battle, terrible secrets, and a fragile hope. The world is changing. The East is pitted against the West, and Kestrel and Arin are caught between. In a game like this, can anybody really win?”


GAAAAAHHHHH! You guys, my heart aches for the conclusion of Kestrel and Arin’s story. I need this novel like yesterday. If you haven’t read this series, please do yourself a favor and start it immediately. This trilogy contains duels, battles, secrets, a swoon-worthy love story, kisses, betrayal, friendships, daggers, and spies. The book release date is March 29, 2016.

Learn more about Marie Rutkoski and The Winner’s Kiss from the publisher Fierce Reads, the Young Adult portal for Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group.

You can pre-order the book from: AMAZON I Barnes & Noble I The Book Depository