Waiting On Wednesday: Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

waiting on wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights pre-publication/upcoming releases that readers cannot wait to get their hands on. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Today I am aiming the spotlight on…

29749085

 

About the Book (1)

Title: Wonder Woman: Warbringer
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Publication date: August 29, 2017
Publisher:  Random House Books for Young Readers
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Comics

Synopsis

 

She will become one of the world’s greatest heroes: WONDER WOMAN. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning. . . .

Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mere mortal. Even worse, Alia Keralis is no ordinary girl and with this single brave act, Diana may have doomed the world.

Alia just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer—a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together, Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. If they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.

Goodreads | Amazon |Barnes & Noble

RAVES

You guys, I saw Wonder Woman over the weekend, and I AM IN LOVE with that film. Now I want to own and read everything Wonder Woman. How did I survive so long without this heroine in my life? I need this book NOW! NOW I SAY!!!

Image result for .gif wonder woman fight

Waiting On Wednesday: Wicked Like A Wildfire by Lana Popović

waiting on wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights pre-publication/upcoming releases that readers cannot wait to get their hands on. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Today I am aiming the spotlight on…

32051720

about the book

Title: Wicked Like A Wildfire
Author: Lana Popović
Publication date: August 15, 2017
Publisher:  Katherine Tegen Books
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis

Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic’s debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates—and hearts—of twin sisters to a force larger than life.

All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love.

But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

Wicked Like a Wildfire is the first in a two-book series. Readers will be rapt with anticipation for the sequel.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

RAVESWhy do I want to read this book?

Three words:

SECRETS. MAGIC. CURSES.

Image result for gif emperor's new groove

Waiting on Wednesday: The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

waiting on wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights pre-publication/upcoming releases that readers cannot wait to get their hands on. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Today I am aiming the spotlight on…

22892448

About the Book - color project

Title: The Color Project
Author: Sierra Abrams
Publication date: July 18, 2017
Publisher:  Gatekeeper Press
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Synopsis

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

RAVES

  • Summer contemporary books are my guilty pleasure. I can only imagine the slow-burning relationship that develops in this story and all the SWOONS!

Image result for gif swoons

  • I love stories that involve the importance of family and friendships. The Color Project sounds like it might be an emotional roller coaster, but I am so ready for the tears and swoons.

Image result for gif rapunzel

  • I’ve heard great things from fellow book bloggers about this book, and every time I see a tweet and raving review, I get more and more excited for The Color Project to finally be in my hands. 

Image result for gif rapunzel

Waiting on Wednesday with The Winner’s Kiss

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY:

The Winner’s Kiss

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that highlights pre-publication/upcoming releases that readers cannot wait to get their hands on. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

This week my most anticipated read is…The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

Here is a brief summary and a picture of the beautiful cover provided by Goodreads:

“War has begun. Arin is in the thick of it, with the East as his ally and the empire as his enemy. He’s finally managed to dismiss the memory of Kestrel, even if he can’t quite forget her. Kestrel turned into someone he could no longer recognize: someone who cared more for the empire than for the lives of innocent people—and certainly more than she cared for him. At least, that’s what he thinks.

But far north lies a work camp where Kestrel is a prisoner. Can she manage to escape before she loses herself? As the war intensifies, both Kestrel and Arin discover unexpected roles in battle, terrible secrets, and a fragile hope. The world is changing. The East is pitted against the West, and Kestrel and Arin are caught between. In a game like this, can anybody really win?”


GAAAAAHHHHH! You guys, my heart aches for the conclusion of Kestrel and Arin’s story. I need this novel like yesterday. If you haven’t read this series, please do yourself a favor and start it immediately. This trilogy contains duels, battles, secrets, a swoon-worthy love story, kisses, betrayal, friendships, daggers, and spies. The book release date is March 29, 2016.

Learn more about Marie Rutkoski and The Winner’s Kiss from the publisher Fierce Reads, the Young Adult portal for Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group.

You can pre-order the book from: AMAZON I Barnes & Noble I The Book Depository