Character-Inspired Tea Pairings: Hunted by Meagan Spooner

Hunted Tea Pairing Banner

hunted-photo

 

Title: Hunted 
Author: Meagan Spooner
Publication date: March 14, 2017
Publisher:  HarperTeen
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Format: Physical ARC

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N |  The Book Depository


tea pairing banner

I wrote my review on Hunted last week (check it out HERE), and was deeply inspired to write another post, pairing characters with tea blends. In Hunted, tea plays a small role as the remedy for comfort, because it warms the soul, calms the nerves, and steadies the mind. Below I have picked my three favorite characters in Hunted and paired them with what I think are the perfect tea flavors based on their personalities and traits. Enjoy!

Yeva tea

RUBY SPICE CIDER TEA BLEND: Yeva is one of my favorite heroines in YA literature, because like this spice cider tea, Yeva’s personality is vibrant. She is a fighter and a survivor. I love how badass, daring, and determined is she throughout Hunted. And in comparison to this noted tea, Yeva is sweet and fierce. 

Beast tea

LAPSANG SOUCHONG TEA: The tea blend of Lapsang Souchong tastes rich and earthly, with a strange aroma that is wild like Beast. Just as Beast has two competing personalities (the wolf and man), this tea blend has the dual taste of sweet and smokey.  Beast’s mannerisms often hint to a helpful and playful personality, but like a majority of black teas, he is also strong and bold.  

Doe Eyes Tea

NIRVANA GREEN TEA: Yeva (“Beauty”) is a hunter, and like any hunter, she has her most loyal friend and canine companion, Doe-Eyes. Doe-Eyes is always happy to see Yeva, and with every tail-wag, she brings content to Yeva’s life. In comparison to the Nirvana Green tea blend, Doe-Eyes is also sweet, fun, and energetic. 

green swirl

I cannot wait for everyone to read Hunted. Once you have read it, please feel free to stop by and comment what tea flavors you would match to your favorite characters. I would love to see what you come up with and maybe even try out some new tea blends. 

Advertisements

The Tsar’s Guard Spotlight Tour: Character-Inspired Teas & Giveaway

tgsb

Welcome to the 7th day of The Tsar’s Guard Spotlight Tour hosted by Brittany’s Book Rambles! I am so excited to be part of this tour, which highlights our love for The Crown’s Game and one of our most anticipated 2017’s releases, The Crown’s Fate. Today I will be matching the main characters to teas that reflect their traits and personalities. Do not forget to enter the giveaway below for an ARC of The Crown’s Fate. And be sure to stop by each of the tour spotlights to check how some more great posts about The Crown’s Game series. 

character-inspired-tea

vika-andreyeva

RED HOT CINNAMON ORGANIC BLACK TEA: As an enchanter, Vika has amazing power over the elements. Although she is a force of nature, Vika is also very loyal. Just like black tea, she is strong and bold. And like cinnamon, she is truly the “lightning girl”: fiery, fierce, and unpredictable. 

nikolai-karimov

EARL GREY MOONLIGHT TEA: Beyond being an enchanter, Nikolai has impeccable talent in mechanics, tailoring, and dancing. Like any earl grey tea, he is sharp and powerful, with a hint of sweetness. As a friend and competitor, he is very patient, admirable, and kindhearted. 

pasha-romanov

EMPEROR’S CLOUDS AND MIST® GREEN TEA: As a master of disguise, and a member of Russian royalty, Pasha has a good soul full of laughter and enthusiasm. Like green tea, he is strong, but wistful, sweet, and carefree. Pasha is loyal and positive, but oftentimes he falls short from being responsible. 

about-the-book

crownsfate-final-cover

The Crown’s Fate (The Crown’s Game, #2) by Evelyn Skye
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult Fiction
Hardcover: 432 pages
Expected publication: May 16th, 2016 by Balzer + Bray
Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Kepler’s Books

Synopsis:

The gorgeous and darkly compelling sequel to The Crown’s Game—perfect for fans of Red Queen and Shadow and Bone.

Magic is growing, shadows are rising, and the throne is at stake…

Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult—and dangerous—than she ever expected.

Pasha is grappling with his own problems—his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges—and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly—Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom.

For Nikolai, the ending of the Crown’s Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he’s given a second chance at life—tied to a dark price—Nikolai must decide just how far he’s willing to go to return to the world.

With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight—or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves.

giveaway

Win an ARC of The Crown’s Fate (Open International)

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

tour-schedule


Jan. 9th – Brittany’s Book Rambles: The Crown’s Fate Review
Jan. 10th- Sarcasm & Lemons: Fancast
Jan. 11th- The YA Book Traveler: History of Russian Crowns
Jan. 12th Picnic Reads: Character-Based Book Tag
Jan. 13th Book Nerd Addict: Inspired Tote Design
 
Jan.16th Dazzled by Books: Top 5 Reasons I Love The Crown’s Game
Jan. 17th– Rants and Raves of a Bibliophile: Characters Matched to Teas
Jan. 18th– The Book Buzz: New Enchanter
Jan. 19th The Aus. Library: Famous Russian Fairytales
Jan. 20th–  My Thoughts Literally: Character Inspired Dessert
 
Jan. 23rd Omg Books and More Books: Books that Characters of TCG Would Enjoy
Jan. 24th– It Starts at Midnight: Virtual Tour of Russia
Jan. 25th Next Page Please!: Character Blog
Jan. 26th– The Book Nut: Playlist
Jan. 27th Arctic BooksMake-up Looks
 
Jan. 30th– Two Chicks on Books: Pinterest Recipe Board
Jan. 31th– Lost in Ever After: Typical Date for Nikolai & Vika
Feb. 1st- Alexa Loves Books: Fashion Book Look
Feb. 2nd- Sophie Reads YA: Russian History In and Out of The Crown’s Game
Feb. 3rd 21st Century Once Upon A Times: Drink Your Way Through The Crown’s Game
 
Feb. 6th- The Eater of Books: 10 Reason I’m Excited for TCF
Feb. 7th- A Thousand Words A Million Books: Top 5 Magical Moves in The Crown’s Game
Feb. 8th- Seeing Double in Neverland: Fanmade Bookmarks & Swag
Feb. 9th- A Page With A View: YA Fantasy Books set in Russia
Feb. 10th- Dana Square: Recipe from The Crown’s Game
 
Feb. 13th-YA Wednesdays: Favorite Quotes from The Crown’s Game
Feb. 14th- Juniper Reads: Sorting Characters into Fandoms
Feb. 15th- Nicole’s Novel Reads: Nail Polish Looks
Feb. 16th- The Queen Reads: What the Characters of TCG would take to a Deserted Island
Feb. 17th- A Perfection Called Books: The Crown’s Fate Review

about-the-author

evelyn-skye

Evelyn Skye is the New York Times bestselling author of THE CROWN’S GAME (out now!) and THE CROWN’S FATE (May 16, 2017). She was once offered a job by the C.I.A., she not-so-secretly wishes she was on “So You Think You Can Dance,” and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win. When Evelyn isn’t writing, she can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch, immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies.

Author LinksTwitter | Goodreads | Tumblr Instagram | Facebook