Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

HOSTED by The Broke and the Bookish


This week’s topic is…

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

  1. Overly used flowery language and purple prose.

  2. Books with more than two points of view. 

  3. If I’m told the dog dies. NOPE, NOT FOR ME!

  4. Pirates: I’m just never in the mood to read about pirates. I’m hoping this may change in the future, but right now I don’t care about pirates.

  5. Mermaids: I’m not a big fan of merpeople books; I couldn’t even tell you the last one I read.

  6. It’s a “Wuthering Heights” retelling. Ugh, no. I’m not a fan of WH, and I probably won’t be a fan of any retellings. 

  7. Cheating/affairs: I deal with divorces every day with my job, so I don’t want to read about them too. Give me a happy, swoony book and I’m good.

  8. Erotic fiction: No, thank you. I will pass on your odd descriptions of sex and overuse of vegetable comparisons.

  9. Terminal illnesses: Reading is my way to escape from real-life issues like this. Also, I just hate crying. 

  10. Christian fiction that comes off too preachy. 

What are some things that make you instantly NOT want to read a book?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

  1. overly descriptive language is a turn off for me as well. I’m like “Get to the point!” What the junk. I’m also not a fan of cheating stories just b/c usually it is justified in the end b/c the person they cheated for was their one true love. Roll my eyes.

  2. The dog dying (or any pets really) is a total nope for me. A friend and I have a theory that if there’s a dog on the cover the dog is probably going to die. And I’m with you on erotic fiction and terminal illness. Cheating too. I’m just not one for serious, issue contemporaries. Great list!

  3. Cheating is definitely a red flag for me. It just leaves a bitter taste in my mouth that does. I can’t say I’ve read a mermaid book yet but I don’t typically gravitate towards those books.

  4. I don’t enjoy crying either so I tend to avoid the books that I know are going to make me really sad. haha! I’m also not a fan of books that have cheating or affairs in them either. They make me so mad that I feel like I can’t even root for their relationship anymore. I like the happier love stories. Great list!

  5. Love your list! Yes and yes to so many of those 😀 Point 1: Some do it right, like Jacqueline Carey, but lots don’t and it just annoys me. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff was the last book I tried to read that belongs to this category..
    Dogs dying…. Big one^^ People die and I don’t bat an eye, the dog dies and here we go, I start sobbing like the world just ended. I can’t help it!!

    Erotic fiction! 😀 I mean, I like sexy, steamy and explicit scenes in my books but I don’t want them to be the center of attention. And they are mostly so cringey… Your point 1 belongs to that as well. Please, no flowery language! No stupid comparisons (vegetables? wow 😀 The last one I had was love flower and stem….I didn’t finish the book)

    I don’t enjoy reading about 9 & 10 and 6! I only ever tried the WH movie from the 90’s but didn’t like and didn’t finish.

Leave a Reply

