Raves & A Review: By Your Side by Kasie West

by-your-side

30256248

 

Title: By Your Side
Author: Kasie West
Publication date: January 31, 2017
Publisher: Harper Teen
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: ARC

ABOUT THE BOOK:

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?


My Top 5 Raves of By Your Side

1.If you’re already a Kasie West fan, you are going to love By Your Side. It’s fast-paced, swoony, funny, and you will definitely fall in love with the two main characters, Autumn and Dax.

Image result for swoon .gif

2. Some of you may already know this about me, especially if you follow me on Twitter, but my brother is my best friend. And in By Your Side, Autumn is also very close to her brother, Owen. Their dialogue is witty and hilarious. I adored when these two were together in a chapter. One of my rants about this book is that there was not enough scenes between these two. GIVE ME MORE AWESOME SISTER-AND-BROTHER SCENES, PLEASE!

Related image

3. Kasie’s books always gives me John Hughes’ movie FEELS, and of course I went into this book hoping for inspired The Breakfast Club library scenes. Now, the library dancing and sprinkling of PixieStix on a sandwich didn’t happen, but I think Autumn and Dax handled being locked in a library for a weekend really well. Being locked in a library is definitely a way to challenge yourself, but in this story, it was also a good start to a new friendship. And although Autumn already has some preconceived notions about Dax having a “bad boy” reputation, she finds out that Dax is very resourceful, honest, and trustworthy.

Image result for .gif The Breakfast Club

4. Autumn is a realistic protagonist worth rooting for. She has her flaws, but don’t we all. One of my favorite things about Autumn is that she is not as angsty as many cliché female leads are portrayed in contemporary books. I found Autumn to be strong-willed, caring, and overconscientious. 

Related image

5. Last, I really enjoyed that By Your Side focuses on a multitude of situations: family, friendships, teenage love, foster children, and anxiety. Kasie West doesn’t shy her characters away from making mistakes or misconstruing situations. Instead, the characters use their cleverness, humor, and courage to conquer the world. Give me a Kasie West book any day, and I will always walk away with fluff in my heart and laughter in my soul.

Related image

4 star rating

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

RELEASE DATE: January 31, 2017

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N |  The Book Depository

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Raves & A Review: By Your Side by Kasie West

  1. You know, I’ve been feeling very back and forth about checking this one out. My first introduction to Kasie West was through her sci-fi novel Pivot Point which is still a favorite of mine but I’ve found her contemporaries a bit underwhelming by comparison. I like that this one is set in a library and your glowing review may have convinced me to give a KW contemp a second chance!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s