Book Review: Nantucket Blue

13597696Title: Nantucket Blue
By: Leila Howland
Release Date: May 7, 2013
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Genres: Fiction, Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 294 (Hardcover)
Format: Kindle (e-book)
Source: Purchased

About Nantucket Blue:

For Cricket Thompson, a summer like this one will change everything. A summer spent on Nantucket with her best friend, Jules Clayton, and the indomitable Clayton family. A summer when she’ll make the almost unattainable Jay Logan hers. A summer to surpass all dreams.

Some of this turns out to be true. Some of it doesn’t.

When Jules and her family suffer a devastating tragedy that forces the girls apart, Jules becomes a stranger whom Cricket wonders whether she ever really knew. And instead of lying on the beach working on her caramel-colored tan, Cricket is making beds and cleaning bathrooms to support herself in paradise for the summer.

But it’s the things Cricket hadn’t counted on–most of all, falling hard for someone who should be completely off-limits–that turn her dreams into an exhilarating, bittersweet reality.

A beautiful future is within her grasp, and Cricket must find the grace to embrace it. If she does, her life could be the perfect shade of Nantucket blue.

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N |  The Book Depository


MY RANTS AND RAVES OF NANTUCKET BLUE

I have not had that much luck with contemporary reads in the last couple of months. I’m a mood reader, and during the summer, I’m always like, “GIMME ALL THE SWOONY CONTEMPS BECAUSE SUMMER = LOVE.” And sadly, once again, I was unable to fall in love with another contemporary read, in this case, Nantucket Blue.

First, I had a very hard time connecting with Cricket. She seemed off-putting and flat as a character. She is too worried of what everyone thinks, which causes her to fail to focus on the world and friends that surround her. I wanted her to be a stronger character, but with each chapter I failed to like her more and more. And do not even get me started on her so-called best friend, Jules. UGH, worst friend award definitely goes to Jules. I know everyone grieves in different ways, but I honestly do think, and I know from experience with the tragedy she faces, that I would never treat my friend like she treats Cricket. How does treating your friends like crap, help you cope with the reality of loss?! IT DOESN’T! Their friendship is odd, rude, and so complicated for unnecessary reasons, making the whole book less enjoyable.

Furthermore, I think because Cricket is so insecure and worried about what others think, this causes her motivations, interactions, and actions to become too drawn out and over-dramatic, which leads to too much angst.The only rave that I have about the book is the relationship that blossomed between Cricket and Zack. Their interactions were swoony and had me smiling a lot. Zack definitely made up for Jules’ indifference in the friendship department.

Overall, I think this novel had potential. Creating a love story at a beachy, summer location sounds great on paper, but in the long run the chapters were so short and clipped, leaving rarely any room for a story to develop. Cricket goes through a lot, and I mean A LOT, in this novel. She barely has room to work out her problems and maturely grow. I saw that there is a sequel, Nantucket Red, but in all honestly, I do not feel compelled to follow Cricket through another stage of her adolescence after reading Nantucket Blue.

1 star rating

MY RATING: 2 out of 5 Stars

Note:   I bought this book with my own funds. I was not provided a copy of this book by the author or the publisher in an exchange for a review; I reviewed it at my own discretion.  All statements and opinions in this review are mine.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Nantucket Blue

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t have luck with your swoony contemps lately, I sadly cannot recommend you anything. Nothing I read that will go under this category.

Leave a Reply

