Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

TOP TEN TUESDAY

HOSTED by The Broke and the Bookish


This week’s topic is…

 Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

(Click the book cover link to the book’s Goodreads’ page)

41865

In 2006, I had a headlight out and my older brother took me to Wal-Mart to purchase a new one. Also, in my shopping cart, I added the paperback of Twilight, because I loved the apple on the cover. 

9361589

Saw the cover–loved the title–bought it! Now I own 5 different versions of this book, including the German cover.

22535489

I am obsessed with images of honeycombs and bees, so when I saw this cover, I knew I had to have it. Plus the book is beautifully written.

71811

In the the mid-2000s, I was obsessed with Urban Fantasy. In 2006, I saw this book, read the synopsis, and immediately bought it. This is definitely one of my favorite series, still today. 

38619

Once again, while going through an Urban Fantasy phase, I saw this book on the shelves at Borders, and immediately bought it. BEST BOOK SERIES EVER!!!

10194157

I saw this cover, and I immediately knew I had to read this series. This book saved me from a terrible reading slump!!! 

28187

After browsing for a new series on the library shelves, I found this one. I fell in love with this series because of the well-developed characters, the adventure, and all the mythological facts. 

11071466

This was the first Morgan Matson book I read. I mainly read it because my uncle was just diagnosed with cancer, very similar to the main character’s father’s situation. This book was heartbreaking but also very healing. 

25068467

I first saw this book listed under the autographed copies on Barnes and Noble’s website. Then I looked it up on Book Depository and saw this UK cover, and bought it on a whim. I knew I had to read it ASAP after reading the synopsis. 

3

In the late 90s, my mom took me to the library ALL the time. I saw this book, found out it was about wizards/witches, and that night I was put under a Harry Potter spell. 

What books have you ever picked up on a whim? I tend to buy and read books based on their covers. What is your deciding factor in picking up a new book to read?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

  1. I love it when whim books are so great that you MUST HAVE anything related to them (other copies, series, other writing by the author!). I’ve read “Harry Potter”, “Percy Jackson”, “Uprooted”, and “The Night Circus”, but they were all recommended to me by someone! So they didn’t make my own list this week.

    Glad you enjoyed these whim buys!

    My TTT

Leave a Reply

