Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Day 3 #BBAW

 

Untitled design (3)

Book Blogger Appreciation Week (#BBAW) is hosted by Estella Society

Day OneIntroduce yourself (16)

 

Day 3’s Prompt:

Have you ever read a book because of a book blogger? Be it a good book or bad, bloggers recommend books every day of the year. Sometimes we take their advice and it’s great! Hello every graphic novel I’ve ever read! Sometimes, it’s not so great. Damn you Like Water for Chocolate (ducks). Today, tell us all about the book or books you’ve read because of a book blogger and be sure to sure to spread the blame around.~Estella Society

I’m not a huge young adult contemporary reader. However, every now and then I get on a contemporary kick, (side note: I blame the romantic kissage), and I read like ten contemporary or New Adult books in a row. As a hardcore fantasy and sci-fi book lover with this odd obsession with contemporary novels, I usually turn to my friends and fellow book bloggers for their recommendations. Now it’s time for the blame game…

 

I BLAME KAYLA

As I admitted before, contemporary is a hard genre for me to enjoy, but once I get started, I can’t stop reading them. A few years back, my friend Kayla, my brother Johnny, and I went to Decatur, Georgia for their annual book festival. One of the guest authors attending the festival was Stephanie Perkins. So of course based on Kayla’s recommendation and her being the book pusher that she is, I bought all of Stephanie’s books. After meeting Stephanie and acknowledging how sweet and adorable she is, I read Anna and the French Kiss. Then I fell into the Anna and the French Kiss series’ rabbit hole.

Before reading the series, I specifically remember Kayla stating (I’m paraphrasing here), “In Lola and the Boy Next Door, Cricket is sweet and adorable, but Lola is a spoiled brat and does not deserve him.” So obviously, I am going to blame Kayla for my must-read-marathon obsession I had with Stephanie Perkins’s books, but also, as I was reading Lola’s story, I kept thinking, “nope, nope, nope…Cricket you deserve so much better than Lola.” I also did not read Lola’s story until last, because I was so afraid I was going to despise her. HAHAHA!!! Thanks for putting that disapproval towards Lola in my head, Kayla.  

693638299617969627755

 

4 thoughts on “Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Day 3 #BBAW

  1. I read only the first of Stephanie Perkins’s books and thought it was totally sweet and dear. And I haven’t read the other ones yet! I’ve sort of been saving them for some time when I’m having a crappy day and need a pick-me-up, but of course I never actually remember them on bad days. :p

Leave a Reply

